Oral History Australia
Giving Voice to the Past

NOMINATIONS OPEN: 2017 Hazel de Berg Award for Excellence in Oral History

by | March 15, 2017

It's time to make nominations for the

2017 Hazel de Berg Award

for Excellence in Oral History

Oral History Australia has established an award to recognise people who have made an outstanding contribution to the cause of oral history in Australia. The Award is not restricted to members of Oral History Australia. The inaugural award was presented at the International Oral History Association Conference Sydney in 2006. To commemorate her pioneering work in oral history, the award has been named the Hazel de Berg Award for Excellence in Oral History.

The recipient shall be the nominee deemed by the National Committee of the Oral History Australia to have made an outstanding contribution to the cause of oral history in Australia over a considerable period of time.  Relevant activities are many and varied and include:

  • Promotion and raising of awareness of oral history, within the oral history profession, with historians, with organisations and within the general community.
  • Volunteer work with communities, not-for-profit groups and with oral history associations.
  • Initiation of and contribution to oral history projects documenting Australia's past and contemporary history.
  • Recording and documentation of oral history.
  • Preservation and archiving of oral history collections.
  • Research involving assessing oral history.
  • Publication of papers, journal articles and books.
  • Education and/or teaching including conduct of seminars and workshops.
  • Mentoring
  • Such other contributions to oral history considered worthy of recognition.

Anyone can make a nomination and there is no impediment to a person nominating them self. This national award presents the opportunity to give public recognition and encouragement not only to the recipient but to the important role of oral history.

Closing date for the applications for the 2017 Award: 30 June 2017.

See further details and download nomination form here.
To access a Word version of the nomination form click here
Self-nominees will need to download Guidelines for Referees here.

The award will be presented at the Oral History Australia Conference Sydney 13-16 September 2017.



Past Winners of the Hazel de Berg Award 2006-2015.pdf

Read about Hazel de Berg and her passion for oral history