Oral History Australia
Giving Voice to the Past

AWARD - Hazel de Berg Award 2019

by | April 28, 2019

Award nominations now open

Hazel de Berg and Harry Messe, 1972

Nominations for the 2019 Hazel de Berg award are now being accepted. The deadline for submission is 1 August 2019 and the awardee will be announced during the 2019 Biennial Conference in Brisbane in October 2019.

Access the 2019_hdb_award_nom_form.pdf 2019 Hazel de Berg Award nomination form.

The Hazel de Berg Award recognises a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of oral history over a considerable period of time. Nominees should either:

a) satisfactorily meet all of the following criteria or

b) be outstanding in one or more of these.

Please note that self-nominations are not permitted.


Relevant activities are many and varied and include:

  • Promotion and raising of awareness of oral history, within the oral history profession, with historians, with organisations and within the general community.
  • Volunteer oral history work  with communities, not-for-profit groups and with oral history associations.
  • Initiation and implementation of a range of oral history projects over time.
  • Significant contributions to the technical creation, management or oversight of oral history projects documenting Australia’s past and contemporary history.
  • Preservation and archiving of oral history collections.
  • Contribution to the literature on oral history through the publication of papers, journal articles and books.
  • The use of oral history in new media, multi-media, performance, film, radio, podcasts and other creative outputs.
  • Education and/or teaching of oral history including the conducting of seminars and workshops.
  • Mentoring and other contributions to oral history.

Nomination process

 A nomination:

  • should be succinct and persuasive, providing evidence to support claims about the achievements of the nominee 
  • must be typewritten on the prescribed form and marked ‘Confidential’
  • must be signed and dated by the nominator (electronic signature please)
  • can be made by any member of a State oral history association or resident of Australia, and
  • may be an updated resubmission of a nomination from a previous year.


The Judging Panel for the biennial Hazel de Berg Award will be appointed by the committee of Oral History Australia. The Judging Panel will comprise a member of Oral History New South Wales, a member of one other Australian state oral history association and a senior member of the Australian oral history profession.

Further information

Further details about the award and previous winners, and about Hazel de Berg’s life and work as a pioneering Australian oral historian, are available at https://www.oralhistoryaustralia.org.au/oral-history-award-for-excellence.html.